To Make a World

sooo….real.

from small things

A couple weeks ago I visited an exhibition titled “To Make a World, George Ault and 1940’s America.”  Unfortunately, I brought my 9 year old sidekick and she was not too keen on letting me look at every artwork and/or take any decent notes on what I saw. What I remember enjoying most was getting to see more work by an artist whose painting above is one I’ve seen a zillion times at the same museum where I work from time to time.  It seemed so stark, too cold, precise, quiet. Turns out that’s exactly what George Ault is known for and he does it beautifully. One painting I enjoyed a lot was one he did of his small studio space.

In the caption it told that he made a habit of cleaning up everything in his studio so that it would be just as pristine as the…

View original post 98 more words

Leave a Reply

